Happy New Year!

dogJust wanted to wish everyone and their pets a “furry” happy New Year.

As iconic Chinese philosopher Confucius once said, “May you live in interesting times.” The year 2014 certainly fit the bill, as it was very trying time for many people, and the world in general.

On the personal front, this past year was quite challenging for me. Murphy bit me and put me in the hospital. Then I adopted Lily, who bit Murphy and put him in the hospital. I and a number of other esteemed writer friends and colleagues were cruelly cut loose by a company whose name I won’t mention. I and some close friends lost loved ones. Then my dad had to undergo major heart surgery.

On the national and global front, we were all rocked by a number of cataclysmic events during the past year, which are too numerous to mention. On the bright side, I survived, with my strength, courage and dignity intact. And I could not have done so without the love and support of an extraordinary network of family, friends and colleagues.

I have been so very fortunate to be surrounded by people who truly love animals. Humans who care about the well being of critters have exceptionally big hearts, and possess a rare sense of caring and compassion for all living beings.

Yes, the past year has been a tough one. But I am truly blessed to have so many wonderful people, and animals in my life, which has been a great comfort to me in the darkest moments.

So thanks to all who have been a part of this crazy game called life, and may the New Year bring you the happiness, prosperity and peace you all so richly deserve.

Love,

Alissa, Murphy and Lily

Photo from Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

